Author Topic: blink-boards hosting malware site content?  (Read 1107 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dw.

  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 2,501
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Karma -622
  • Gender: Male
blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« on: July 21, 2010, 04:22:06 AM »
Dunno if it's someones sig or avatar or something, but quite frequently I keep getting a notification from chrome about the blink boards, (or threads) I go into. Here's the message, any thoughts?

"The website at www.blink-182online.com contains elements from the site icons.iconator.com, which appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer.
For detailed information about the problems with these elements, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for icons.iconator.com.
Learn more about how to protect yourself from harmful software online."

Offline Dean

  • Make like paper, sound.
  • Join Date: May 2006
  • Posts: 6,099
  • Location: Australia
  • Karma 3
  • Gender: Male
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 05:48:59 AM »
Firstly, I suggest installing the AdBlock extension for Chrome if you haven't already.
I'm pretty certain this is going to be an ad that is on the site.

Offline matt.

  • They call me tater salad
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 6,025
  • Location: FL
  • Karma 29
  • Gender: Male
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 06:14:41 AM »
i keep getting it too for certain threads.  i have a few adblockers installed too...
I'm Baaaaaaack...


Online Tyler☮

  • Tyler/Tymander/Vabosa182
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 2,767
  • Location: Spring, TX
  • Karma -2
  • Gender: Male
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 05:32:28 PM »
Yeah this only happens to me in the blink general discussion but it's annoying as hell.
stick around, nostalgia won't let you down.

Offline radikal

  • The Only Constant Is Change
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 2,897
  • Location: USA
  • Karma 13
  • Gender: Male
    • Music Blog
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2010, 07:08:27 PM »
I get it as well



My Music Blog

This one goes out, to all our fans,
to all the punk rock kids who've been into our band,
if you only know us, from this one song,
here's news for you we've been around,
for six years long, and it HURTS!

Offline racerboX

  • 808 <3
  • Join Date: Feb 2004
  • Posts: 271
  • Location: Ontario
  • Karma 0
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2010, 08:11:24 PM »
yup, same thing

Offline GrandpaQueefer

  • Godfather
  • Admin
  • Epic
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2003
  • Posts: 27,257
  • Karma -24
  • Gender: Male
    • Twat
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2010, 09:49:59 PM »
You should have posted this in FAQ and Forum Support, so that ryan could actually see it.

Luckily, im here to do that for you. Like dean said, its probably just one of the ads
Typical Ghent response. All rhetoric, no argument.

n|i|k|u|.

Offline Harvey Specter

  • American Slang
  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 13,255
  • Location: Vancouver
  • Karma -48
  • Gender: Male
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2010, 10:12:47 PM »
Yeah this only happens to me in the blink general discussion but it's annoying as hell.

This.

Offline Blink182Online

  • Admin
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2002
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma 12
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.blink-182online.com
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2010, 12:59:34 PM »
I can't find anything about iconator.com in the list of ads being shown, can you guys post a screen shot of whatever ad is showing next time you get that warning?

Offline JT

  • hi.
  • Anal Destroyers
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 18,448
  • Location: Australia
  • Karma -16
  • Gender: Male
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2010, 08:37:06 AM »
Hey guys, I've worked out that it was juice182's avatar that was firing off the malware warning. I've removed it and uploaded it elsewhere so all should be good now.

This image in particular: http://icons.iconator.com/381/ICONATOR_dd72c83805f06fe5a9c44c3db4946175.jpg

Offline Dw.

  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 2,501
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Karma -622
  • Gender: Male
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2010, 07:30:00 PM »
Thanks dude!

Offline IenjoyLongWalks

  • Join Date: Dec 2004
  • Posts: 6,226
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Karma 14
  • Gender: Female
Re: blink-boards hosting malware site content?
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2010, 05:21:46 AM »
Thank you lots.